Paul Balluff, B.A. MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49393
M: paul.balluff@univie.ac.at





Yulia Belinskaya, MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49309
M: yulia.belinskaya@univie.ac.at

– Governance of communicative spaces and public sphere
– Digital media in hybrid regimes
– Freedom of expression & restrictive media policies


Jana Bernhard, Bakk. BA M.Sc. MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48306
M: jana.bernhard@univie.ac.at

– Automated text analysis
– Quantitative methods
– Political communication
– Digitalization of communication professions


Mgr. Dominika Betakova, Bc.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49378
M: dominika.betakova@univie.ac.at

– Political communication
– News usage and news avoidance
– Quantitative research methods and computer-assisted content analysis
– Experimental research methods


Ming Manuel Boyer, MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48324
M: ming.manuel.boyer@univie.ac.at

– Intergroup news effects
– News processing biases
– Social identity theory
– Motivated reasoning


Mag. Cornelia Duregger
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49358
M: cornelia.duregger@univie.ac.at

– Media impact research
– Physiological measurements


Mag. Jana Laura Egelhofer, Bakk.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48323
M: jana.laura.egelhofer@univie.ac.at

– Fake news
– Disinformation
– (Political) media criticism
– Media perceptions


Isabelle Freiling, B.A. M.A.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49387
M: isabelle.freiling@univie.ac.at

– Media use and effects
– Science communication
– Political communciation
– Social media / Misinformation


Sebastian Galyga, B.A. MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48305
M: sebastian.galyga@univie.ac.at

– Manual and automated content analysis
– Experimental research
– Political communication


Mag. Raffaela Gmeiner, Bakk. B.A. MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49332
M: raffaela.gmeiner@univie.ac.at

– Cultural & creative industries
– Music & media
– Qualitative methods
– Gender & minority groups


Hannah Greber, BA BA MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48309
M: hannah.greber@univie.ac.at

– Immersive journalism
– Virtual reality (VR)
– Constructive journalism
– Positive psychology


Maria Gruber, MSc BA Bakk.phil.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48307
M: maria_gruber@univie.ac.at

– Media and migration
– Qualitative methods
– Rhetorical analysis


Melanie Hirsch, BA BA MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49333
M: melanie.hirsch@univie.ac.at

– Political communication
– Social media
– Media psychology
– Empirical methods


Azade Esther Kakavand, B.A. MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49359
M: azade.kakavand@univie.ac.at

– Social solidarity
– Stereotypes in media
– Automated content analysis
– Quantitative methods


Ruta Kaskeleviciute, BA MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49343
M: ruta.kaskeleviciute@univie.ac.at

– Media contents and effects
– Media psychology
– Political communication
– Empirical methods


Mag. Tanja Kiennast, Bakk.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49392
M: tanja.kiennast@univie.ac.at

– Media history
– Communication technologies
– Journalism studies
– Gender


Helena Knupfer, Bakk. BSc MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49312
M: helena.knupfer@univie.ac.at

– Media psychology
– Media effects
– Intergroup relations and terrorism
– Quantitative methods


Aytalina Kulichkina, BA MA MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

M: aytalina.kulichkina@univie.ac.at

– Political communication
– Media effects
– Public opinion
– Quantitative research methods


Noelle Sophie Lebernegg, BA BA MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48303
M: noelle.sophie.lebernegg@univie.ac.at

– Automated content analysis
– VR and immersive journalism
– Political communication and journalism
– Opinion and election research


Fabienne Lind, BSc MSc.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48382
M: fabienne.lind@univie.ac.at

– Quantitative methods
– Political communication


Mag. Manina Mestas, Bakk.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49382
M: manina.mestas@univie.ac.at

– Media Literacy
– Advertising Effects
– Health Communication


Sophie Minihold, Bakk. MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49365
M: sophie.minihold@univie.ac.at

– Persuasive political communication
– Political microtargeting
– Data-driven election campaigns
– Effects on voters


Mag. Andreas Nanz, Bakk. BA BA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49327
M: andreas.nanz@univie.ac.at

– Political communication
– Political information
– Information processing
– Effects of social media


Mag. Ariadne Neureiter, Bakk. BSc MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49334
M: ariadne.neureiter@univie.ac.at

– Strategic (sustainability) communication
– Information processing strategies
– Green Advertising


Alina Nikolaou, Bakk. BA MSc.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48381
M: alina.nikolaou@univie.ac.at


Mag. Neda Ninova-Solovykh
Researcher (Predoc)
Currently on maternal leave

T: +43-1-4277-48320
M: neda.ninova@univie.ac.at

– Employee activism
– Employee communication
– Strategic organisational communication
– Issue management in agile organisations


Selina Noetzel, B.A. MSc
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49316
M: selina.noetzel@univie.ac.at

– Political communication
– Media effects
– Media psychology
– Media literacy


Franz Reiter, BA MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49342
M: franz.reiter@univie.ac.at

– Pollitical advertising
– Electoral communication
– Quantitative methods


Mag. Andreas Schulz, B.A. B.A. MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49366
M: andreas.schulz@univie.ac.at

– Hate speech
– Media and intersectionality
– Political communication
– Interdisciplinary social research


Mag. Stefania Patricia Smolean, Bakk.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277 (TBA)
M: TBA


Anja Stevic, M.A. MSc.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49318
M: anja.stevic@univie.ac.at

– Social media and well-being
– Media effects
– Media psychology


Julia Stranzl, Bakk. BA MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49370
M: julia.stranzl@univie.ac.at

– Nudging
– Communication ethics
– Transparency


Marlis Stubenvoll, BA MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49328
M: marlis.stubenvoll@univie.ac.at

– Misinformation
– Resistance strategies against counter-attitudinal information
– Personalized advertising


Marina F. Thomas, BSc. M.Sc.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49346
M: marina.thomas@univie.ac.at

– Empirical Methods
– Media Psychology
– Social Media
– Gender and Sexuality


Teresa Weikmann, B.A. M.A.
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-48304
M: teresa.weikmann@univie.ac.at

– Political communication
– Visual communication
– Deepfakes
– Disinformation


Daniel Wolfgruber, Bakk. MA
Researcher (Predoc)

T: +43-1-4277-49376
M: daniel.wolfgruber@univie.ac.at

– Strategic diversity communication
– Communicative constitution of ethical organizational cultures
– Organizational values communication
– Humor and organizational ethics