Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Florian Arendt
Associate Professor of Health Communication

✆  +43-1-4277-49323
✉  florian.arendt@univie.ac.at

➥  Health communication

 

 


Mag. Dr. Alice Binder, Bakk.
Senior Scientist

✆  +43-1-4277-49398
✉  alice.binder@univie.ac.at

➥  Persuasive Communication
➥  Health Communication
➥  Effects of food placements on children


Univ.-Prof. Hajo Boomgaarden, PhD
Professor of Methods in the Social Sciences
Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences

✆  +43-1-4277-49905
✉  hajo.boomgaarden@univie.ac.at

➥  Analysis of (news) media coverage and its effects on political cognitions, attitudes and behavior
➥  Methodological advances of content analysis techniques
➥  Media, migration and right-wing populist parties
➥  European integration


Ass.-Prof. Dipl.-Psych. Dr. Tobias Dienlin
Tenure-Track Professorship Interactive Communication

✆  +43-1-4277-49314
✉  tobias.dienlin@univie.ac.at

➥  Privacy, personality, & self-disclosure
➥  Social media, communication, & well-being
➥  Open science


Dr. Jakob-Moritz Eberl, BA MA
Senior Scientist

✆  +43-1-4277-49917
✉  jakob-moritz.eberl@univie.ac.at

➥  Media bias
➥  Manual/automated media analysis
➥  Media effects on political behavior and attitudes
➥  Media and migration


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sabine Einwiller
Department Chair • Professor of Public Relations Research

✆  +43-1-4277-49319
✉  sabine.einwiller@univie.ac.at

➥  Public relations
➥  Strategic communication
➥  Effects of negative publicity and crisis communication
➥  Complaint management


Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Gerit Götzenbrucker, Privatdoz.
Associate Professor

✆  +43-1-4277-49381
✉  gerit.goetzenbrucker@univie.ac.at

➥  Media and consequences of new technology
➥  Critical technology and media analysis
➥  Social network analysis
➥  Digital game studies


Univ.-Prof. Folker Hanusch, BA (Hons) PhD
Vice-Director of Studies • Professor of Journalism

✆  +43-1-4277-48355
✉  folker.hanusch@univie.ac.at

➥  Comparative journalism studies
➥  Journalism culture
➥  Lifestyle journalism
➥  Indigenous journalism


ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Fritz (Friedrich) Hausjell
Department Vice-Chair

✆  +43-1-4277-49303
✉  fritz.hausjell@univie.ac.at

➥  Media and communication history
➥  Journalism research
➥  Media and communication policy
➥  Migration, diversity and media


Mag. Dr. Petra Herczeg, Privatdoz.
Director of Studies • Senior Lecturer
Bachelor / Master Publizistik- und KOWI (SPL 22)

✆  +43-1-4277-49321
✉  petra.herczeg@univie.ac.at

➥  Children & media
➥  Intercultural communication
➥  Language and knowledge
➥  Journalism


Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Kathrin Karsay
Tenure Track Professorship for Entertainment Research

✆  +43-1-4277-49376
✉  kathrin.karsay@univie.ac.at

➥  Media effects, especially in entertainment media
➥  Digital well-being in times of permanent availability
➥  Media portrayals and effects in the context of stigma, stereotypes, and body image
➥  Use and effects of mobile media and social media


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sophie Lecheler
Professor of Communication
Special Focus: Political Communication

Speaker of the Vienna Doctoral School of Social Sciences (ViDSS)

✆  +43-1-4277-49375
✉  sophie.lecheler@univie.ac.at

➥  Digital democracy and media
➥  Political journalism
➥  Emotions in political communication
➥  Political framing & framing effects


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Matthes
Department Vice-Chair • Professor of Communication

✆  +43-1-4277-49307
✉  joerg.matthes@univie.ac.at

➥  Advertising
➥  Political communication
➥  Media reception & effects
➥  Methods


Dr. Mira Mayrhofer, Bakk. BSc MSc
Senior Lecturer

✆  +43-1-4277-48327
✉  mira.mayrhofer@univie.ac.at

➥  Health communication
➥  Advertising research (Focus: Food & alcohol)
➥  Product placements in TV and social media
➥  Quantitative methods


Dr. Christopher Ruppel, M.A.
Senior Lecturer

✆  +43-1-4277-48322
✉  christopher.ruppel@univie.ac.at

➥  Stakeholder relationships
➥  Crisis communication
➥  Internal communication
➥  Native advertising


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Katharine Sarikakis
Professor of Communication

✆  +43-1-4277-49394
✉  katharine.sarikakis@univie.ac.at

➥  Media governance
➥  European integration, media and communicative spaces
➥  Media technologies, human rights and social change
➥  Gender and media policy


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Desirée Schmuck, BSc
Professor of Media Change and Media Innovation

✆  +43-1-4277-49311
✉  desiree.schmuck@univie.ac.at

➥  Digital media use of children and adolescents
➥  Political engagement in digital environments
➥  Media change and social relations
➥  Media innovation and autonomy


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr
Professor of Computational Communication Science
Vice-Director of Studies
Master Program Communication Science (SPL 22)

✆  +43-1-4277-49352
✉  annie.waldherr@univie.ac.at

➥  Public sphere
➥  Political online communication
➥  Computational social science


Ass.-Prof. Dr. Claudia Wilhelm, M.A.
Tenure Track-Professorship Media and Intersectionality

✆  +43-1-4277-49331
✉  claudia.wilhelm@univie.ac.at

➥  Digital communication
➥  Media use and effects, especially digital games and gender aspects
➥  Children and youth media research


MMag. DDr. Julia Wippersberg, Privatdoz.
Vice-Studienpäses of the University of Vienna
Senior Lecturer

✆  +43-1-4277-49341
✉  julia.wippersberg@univie.ac.at

➥  Quality and evaluation of contract research (PR, Advertising, Public Affairs)
➥  Media literacy
➥  TV research (local TV, mobile and interactive TV)