Ass.-Prof. Dr. Florian Arendt
Tenure Track-Professorship Health Communication

T: +43-1-4277-49323
M: florian.arendt@univie.ac.at

➥  Health communication

 

 


Univ.-Prof. Hajo Boomgaarden, PhD
Professor of Methods in the Social Sciences
Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences

T: +43-1-4277-49905
M: hajo.boomgaarden@univie.ac.at

➥  Analysis of (news) media coverage and its effects on political cognitions, attitudes and behavior
➥  Methodological advances of content analysis techniques
➥  Media, migration and right-wing populist parties
➥  European integration


Ass.-Prof. Dipl.-Psych. Dr. Tobias Dienlin
Tenure-Track Professorship Interactive Communication

T: +43-1-4277-49314
M: tobias.dienlin@univie.ac.at

➥  Privacy, personality, & self-disclosure
➥  Social media, communication, & well-being
➥  Open science


Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Johanna Dorer
Assistant Professor

T: +43-1-4277-49337
M: johanna.dorer@univie.ac.at

➥  Feminist media research
➥  Media theory
➥  New media technologies
➥  Public relations


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sabine Einwiller
Department Vice-Chair • Professor of Public Relations Research

T: +43-1-4277-49319
M: sabine.einwiller@univie.ac.at

➥  Public relations
➥  Strategic communication
➥  Effects of negative publicity and crisis communication
➥  Complaint management


Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Gerit Götzenbrucker, Privatdoz.
Associate Professor

T: +43-1-4277-49381
M: gerit.goetzenbrucker@univie.ac.at

➥  Media innovation
➥  Critical technology and media analysis
➥  Social network analysis
➥  Digital game studies


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Rainer Gries
Franz Vranitzky Chair for European Studies

T: +43-1-4277-483 11
M: rainer.gries@univie.ac.at

➥  Media and communication history
➥  Religion & media
➥  Politics and media in the Balkans


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jürgen Grimm
Professor of Communication

T: +43-1-4277-49311
M: juergen.grimm@univie.ac.at

➥  Communication & society
➥  Communication theory
➥  Journalism
➥  Political communication


Univ.-Prof. Folker Hanusch, BA (Hons) PhD
Professor of Journalism

T: +43-1-4277-49319
M: folker.hanusch@univie.ac.at

➥  Comparative journalism studies
➥  Journalism culture
➥  Lifestyle journalism
➥  Indigenous journalism


ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Fritz (Friedrich) Hausjell
Department Vice-Chair

T: +43-1-4277-49303
M: fritz.hausjell@univie.ac.at

➥  Media and communication history
➥  Journalism research
➥  Media and communication policy
➥  Migration, diversity and media


Mag. Dr. Petra Herczeg, Privatdoz.
Vice-Director of Studies • Senior Lecturer
Bachelor / Master Publizistik- und KOWI (SPL 22)

T: +43-1-4277-49321
M: petra.herczeg@univie.ac.at

➥  Children & media
➥  Intercultural communication
➥  Language and knowledge
➥  Journalism


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sophie Lecheler
Professor of Communication
Special Focus: Political Communication

Speaker of the Vienna Doctoral School of Social Sciences (ViDSS)

T: +43-1-4277-49375
M: sophie.lecheler@univie.ac.at

➥  Digital democracy and media
➥  Political journalism
➥  Emotions in political communication
➥  Political framing & framing effects


Ass.-Prof. Ing. Mag. Dr. Klaus Lojka
Director of Studies
Bachelor / Master Publizistik- und KOWI (SPL 22)

T: +43-1-4277-49338
M: klaus.lojka@univie.ac.at

➥  Public relations
➥  Political communication
➥  Election research
➥  Journalism


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Matthes
Department Chair • Professor of Communication

T: +43-1-4277-49307
M: joerg.matthes@univie.ac.at

➥  Advertising
➥  Political communication
➥  Media reception & effects
➥  Methods


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Katharine Sarikakis
Professor of Communication

T: +43-1-4277-49394
M: katharine.sarikakis@univie.ac.at

➥  Media governance
➥  European integration, media and communicative spaces
➥  Media technologies, human rights and social change
➥  Gender and media policy


Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Christian Steininger, Privatdoz.
Guest Professor for Journalism Studies and Communication Science (2020/2021)

T: +43-1-4277-49351
M: christian.steininger@univie.ac.at

➥  Media economics
➥  Media policy
➥  Media theory


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr
Professor of Computational Communication Science
Vice-Director of Studies
Master Program Communication Science (SPL 22)

T: +43-1-4277-49352
M: annie.waldherr@univie.ac.at

➥  Public sphere
➥  Political online communication
➥  Computational social science


Mag. Dr. Irmgard Wetzstein, Bakk. M.A.
Senior Lecturer

T: +43-1-4277-49349
M: irmgard.wetzstein@univie.ac.at

➥  Online communication, social media discourses, social knowledge
➥  Gender media studies, social inequality
➥  Media and migration
➥  Qualitative methods


Ass.-Prof. Claudia Wilhelm, M.A.
Tenure Track-Professorship Media and Intersectionality

T: +43-1-4277-49331
M: claudia.wilhelm@univie.ac.at

➥  Digital communication
➥  Media use and effects, especially digital games and gender aspects
➥  Multivariate analysis
➥  Media economics and regulation


MMag. DDr. Julia Wippersberg, Privatdoz.
Vice-Studienpäses of the University of Vienna
Senior Lecturer

T: +43-1-4277-49341
M: julia.wippersberg@univie.ac.at

➥  Quality and evaluation of contract research (PR, Advertising, Public Affairs)
➥  Media literacy
➥  TV research (local TV, mobile and interactive TV)