Logo der Universität Wien
You are here:>University of Vienna >Faculty of Social Sciences>Department of Communication

Welcome to our Department!

The Department of Communication at the University of Vienna is one of the world’s largest departments for communication science. Set up during the 1940s, our Department now has approximately 4,500 students, more than 85 employees and more than 120 teaching staff.

Vienna's geographic and cultural position makes us a hub for numerous international cooperation projects in the fields of research and teaching. We have personal contacts with many universities from neighbouring countries, but also from the USA and Asia. Consequently, our Department regularly welcomes foreign researchers and lecturers.


Latest News

Monday, 19. November 2018

New Professorship for Computational Communication Science

We are looking to fill the position of a full Professorship at our department.

Tuesday, 15. January 2019

New research projects at our department

Two new research projects funded by the Central Bank of the Republic of Austria (OeNB) and the Austrian Society of Communication (ÖGK) will be starting this year.

Tuesday, 13. November 2018

Sophie Lecheler & Hajo Boomgaarden new associate editors of flagship journals

They were recently appointed as associate editors of the IJPP and the JoC.



Department of Communication

Währinger Straße 29, 1090 Vienna
Althanstraße 14, 1090 Vienna
Rathausstraße 19, 1010 Vienna

T: +43-1-4277-493 01
F: +43-1-4277-849 330


Chair's secretary
Martina Winkler

Technical director
Manfred Bobrowsky

Technical staff
Manfred Gatterwe
Iris Hajicsek

Do you want to subscribe to the newsletter of the alumni club? Please subscribe here!

University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0